Introducing the Book of Mormon Stories Series (and a Timeline)

56

February 15, 2013 by FHElessons

{Update: As per request, I have created some printable versions of my Book of Mormon timeline.  You can find the links at the very end of this article.  Enjoy!}

Recently my son left on a mission.  The process of getting him ready has been an emotional journey for me.  However, now that he’s there, he’s doing so well and having so many spiritual experiences, that I am over the moon about this phase in our lives.  Anyway, a few days before he was scheduled to leave the MTC, I received a phone call from his branch president there.  My heart dropped into my stomach as I worried that something bad must have happened for me to be receiving a phone call from the MTC.  His branch president then told me that they aren’t usually supposed to call the missionary’s family, but he felt that in this situation it was warranted: My son had some sisters in his district who were new converts to the church and were feeling sad and overwhelmed because they didn’t know the Book of Mormon.  My son had tried to purchase a book of summaries of stories from the Book of Mormon for them, but the only book he could find was very shallow and not what he was looking for.  So, he talked his branch president into calling me to ask that I write some up for him and send them to him quickly using DearElder.com so that he could give them to these sisters before he left.  The phone call came late Friday night, DearElder.com delivers the same day but only Monday-Friday if you get it in by noon, and my son was leaving the MTC early Tuesday morning!

from lds.org media library

photo from lds.org media library

Of course, when your missionary asks for something like that, you want to make sure to deliver!  But I wondered how I would get summaries written for all the Book of Mormon stories in 1 weekend (a weekend which was already pretty full of other scheduled activities).  I looked online to try to find some summaries that I could just copy and paste to send to him, but there was nothing!  Fortunately, I come from a family of 7 sisters who are all active and valiant in the gospel, and we have some amazing parents as well!  I decided to enlist my family in helping with this project.  Most everybody in the family found time to summarize a story, and some people did more than one.  My husband and I each did a few.  We weren’t able to get the entire book summarized, but we got a lot done!  We tried to concentrate on the lesser known stories as we figured the sisters who needed these would be more likely to be familiar with the popular stores about Nephi and such.  When my son went to get the mail on Monday, he found the box overflowing with letters, and most of them were for him!  He was super excited to have all the summaries, and so were the sisters that he gave them to.  It was a great project for our family as well, because when you are summarizing a story, you want to make sure you get all the details right, so it takes a little in-depth scripture study to do a good job.

 

scripture study from fhelessons.wordpress.com

 

The reason why I am telling you this whole story on my Family Home Evening blog is that I started thinking about the lack of Book of Mormon stories available, both in the bookstore and on the internet.  It’s easy to find books and internet articles about Bible stories, but there just doesn’t seem to be too much available yet for the Book of Mormon stories.  Thus, I have decided to start a series on my blog with summaries of scripture stories.  I think I will begin with all the ones my family did for our missionary project, and then I may add some stories of Women in the Scriptures because that is one of my favorite things to study, and I want my children and nieces and nephews and future grandchildren to become familiar with them.

The really great thing about the Book of Mormon story summaries that my family and I did is that at the end of each story, the writer always felt compelled to draw a little lesson from the story.  My son didn’t ask us to do that, but as we were writing them, we naturally wanted to say why we chose that story and what we learned from it.  With that format, each story makes for a great Family Home Evening lesson – short, something kids will enjoy hearing, and a lesson that can be learned from it.

I am thinking that a summary of a scripture story with a short little lesson at the end could make a great series for Family Home Evening as well!

I’ll begin adding stories in my next post, but for now, here is a timeline of the stories in the Book of Mormon.  Since they aren’t always told in chronological order, sometimes it’s a little hard to figure out which story goes where.  It’s nice to have a timeline to help you place everything, I think.

I hope you enjoy my scripture story series, and I hope it helps you in teaching the stories of the scriptures to your children and grandchildren!

To find all the stories in this series, click on the “Scripture Stories” tab at the top of this page.  To find the very first story in this series, you can click HERE.  Also, as per the suggestion of a commenter, I have added links in the timeline to the stories I have summarized so far.  Click on any underlined event to open the summary of that story.

 

Book of Mormon Story Timeline

· 2200 BC – The Jaredites ask God not to confound their language at the time of the Tower of Babel.

· The Brother of Jared sees God.

· The Jaredites build barges and travel to the Americas.

· A few generations later, the Daughter of Jared and Akish introduce secret combinations.

· The prophet Ether attempts to warn the Jaredites of their destruction, but they continue in wickedness.

· The Jaredites continue to war with each other.

· 600 BC – Lehi is warned in a vision to escape Jerusalem.

· Lehi’s family departs Jerusalem. Nephi and his brothers return for the brass plates. Zoram joins the group.

· Nephi and his brothers return for Ishmael’s family.

· Lehi dreams of the Tree of Life and the Liahona is discovered.

· Nephi breaks his bow.

· 591 BC – Nephi is commanded to build a ship.

· Lehi and Ishmael’s families journey to the Americas.

· Nephi makes 2 sets of plates.

· 588 BC – After years of war, Coriantumr is the last man of the Jaredites left alive. He wanders for 9 months until he meets the Mulekites.

· 587 BC – The Mulekites come from Jerusalem to the Americas, led by Mulek, a son of King Zedekiah.

· 570 BC – The Nephites and the Lamanites split into 2 groups.

· 544 BC – Jacob succeeds Nephi as prophet.

· Between 544 BC & 421 BC – Enos prays all day and night in the wilderness.

· 225 BC – The Nephites have become wicked, so Mosiah leads a group of righteous Nephites away into Zarahemla where they join with the Mulekites.

· 200 BC – Zeniff leads a group away from Zarahemla to reclaim the Nephite lands.

· 160 BC – King Noah rules the descendants of Zeniff’s group in wickedness (land of Nephi).

· 150 BC – Abinadi prophesies and is then killed (148 BC)(land of Nephi).

· 147 BC – Alma (the Elder) preaches, baptizes, and his group flees into the wilderness and settle in the land of Helam.

· 145 BC – Gideon seeks to slay King Noah, but the Lamanites invade (land of Nephi).

· King Noah commands the men to leave their families and flee into the wilderness. Those men are angry and kill King Noah. (land of Nephi)

· Limhi becomes King over this people (land of Nephi).

· The Lamanites put Limhi’s people in bondage (land of Nephi).

· 143 BC – The Lamanite daughters are abducted by Noah’s priests (land of Nephi).

· Between 145 & 121 BC –Limhi sends a group of men out to look for Zarahemla. They can’t find it, but they find the 24 gold plates which contain a record of the Jaredites (land of Nephi).

· 124 BC – Back in Zarahemla, King Benjamin gives his speech from the tower.

· 121 BC – Ammon leaves Zarahemla to find out what became of Zeniff’s group, and finds King Limhi and his people.

· King Limhi and his people are converted by Ammon. He helps them escape from the Lamanites and return to Zarahemla.

·  A group of Lamanites join with the priests of King Noah and subject Alma the Elder and his followers to bondage (land of Helam).

· 120 BC – Alma the Elder and his group of followers escape and return to Zarahemla.

· Alma the Elder is made high priest in the land of Zarahemla.

· Probably between 100 BC & 92 BC – Alma the Younger and the 4 sons of Mosiah rebel. They are then converted by an angel in a vision.

· 92 BC – Alma the Younger becomes high priest in Zarahemla. The 4 sons of Mosiah leave to serve a mission to the Lamanites.

· Mosiah suggests that the people be ruled by elected judges instead of a king. Alma the Younger becomes chief judge.

· 91 BC – Nehor preaches false doctrine and slays Gideon.

· 90 BC – Amlici seeks to be king. When rejected, he forms the Amlicites and makes war on the Nephites.

· 90 BC – Ammon converts King Lamoni and his city in the land of Ishmael.

· 83 BC – Alma the Younger gives up the judgment seat to preach full time.

· 82 BC – Alma gets a mission companion – Amulek.

· 81 BC – They convert Zeezrom and are restrained from saving the righteous from death by fire.

· Between 90 BC & 77 BC – Aaron and his brethren are cast into prison while preaching to the Amalekites in the city of Middoni. They are freed by Ammon and Lamoni and then go to the land of Nephi to preach to Lamoni’s father, the king of all the Lamanites.

· Lamanites in 7 lands are converted and call themselves the Anti-Nephi-Lehies. The Nephites give them the land of Jershon to live. They bury their weapons and vow to never kill again.

· 74 BC – Korihor, the Anti-Christ, is struck dumb.

· Alma the Younger and Amulek lead a mission to reclaim the apostate Zoramites. The converts join the Anti-Nephi-Lehies in Jershon.

· 73 BC – Alma passes the record keeping to his son Helaman and commands him not to let the people know the secret combinations of the Jaredites.

· Nephite dissenters join the Lamanites and come against the Nephites to battle. Captain Moroni raises the Title of Liberty.

· 72 BC – Moroni fortifies Nephite cities. Pahoran takes the judgment seat. Teancum defeats Morianton and his dissenters.

· 67 BC – The Nephites have a civil war caused by king-men who want a king. Moroni compels the king-men to fight for the Nephites. Amalakiah and the Lamanites capture many Nephite cities. Teancum slays Amalakiah in his tent.

· 66 BC – Ammoron becomes head of Lamanites. Moroni, Lehi, and Teancum regain many Nephite cities.

· 64 BC – Helaman takes command of the 2,000 Stripling Warriors, the sons of the Anti-Nephi-Lehites.

· 63 BC – Moroni frees some Nephite prisoners of war by stealth.

· 62 BC – Moroni complains to Pahoran about lack of support and finds out the Nephites have been under attack from the king-men who joined the Lamanites.

· 61 BC – Moroni defends Pahoran and puts king-men to death. Teancum slays Ammoron and is, himself, slain.

· 55 BC & 54 BC – Hagoth takes a group of Nephites to explore by sea. On the second voyage, they are never heard of again.

· 52 BC – Kishkumen forms a gang and murders Pahoran the second on the judgment seat.

· 50 BC – Helaman the Second becomes chief judge. Gadianton becomes the leader of Kishkumen’s band and they flee into the wilderness.

· 39 BC – Nephi, Helaman’s son, fills the judgment seat, but the people are stirred up by dissenters, become prideful, and become weak.

· 30 BC – Nephi gives up the judgment seat to preach.

· Nephi and Lehi convert thousands.

· 27 BC – Righteous Lamanites preach to the wicked Nephites.

· Satan gives the secret oaths to Gadianton so he can form a secret combination.

· 22 BC – Gadianton robbers take over the Nephite government.

· 19 BC – Nephi is given the sealing powers and persuades the Lord to replace the war with a famine to call the people to repentance.

· 6 BC – Samuel the Lamanite preaches to the Nephites and arrows cannot hit him.

· AD 1 – The wicked plan to slay the righteous who believe the prophecies of Samuel the Lamanite, but the sign of Christ’s birth is given that night.

· Ad 19 – The Nephite armies, led by Giddianhi, defeat the Gadianton robbers.

· AD 34 – Tempests, earthquakes, fires, and whirlwinds attest the death of Christ. Darkness covers the land for 3 days.

· Christ’s voice is heard in the darkness. He proclaims his divinity and invites men to come to Him.

· Christ shows himself to the Nephites in the land of Bountiful. He chooses 12 disciples, preaches, and heals the sick. He institutes the Sacrament and prays using words that cannot be written.

· Christ organizes His church, and the 3 Nephites are changed to remain on Earth until His Second Coming.

· 35 AD – All the Nephites and Lamanites are converted. They have all things common among them and live in peace for almost 200 years.

· 201 AD – Some among them begin to be lifted up in pride. They are divided into classes and begin to deny the true church.

· 231 AD – Those who are righteous are called Nephites. Those who reject the gospel are called Lamanites.

· 321 AD – When Mormon is 10 years old, Ammaron tells him of the plates and instructs him to retrieve them when he turns 24.

· 327 AD – At 16 years old, Mormon heads the Nephite army.

· 362 AD – The Nephite armies boast in their own strength, so Mormon refuses to lead them from that time forth.

· 364 AD – 375 AD – The Nephites are wicked and are swept off by the Lamanites.

· 379 AD – Mormon once again leads the Nephites in battle.

· 385 AD – The Lamanites destroy the Nephites at the final battle in the land of Cumorah. Hundreds of thousands are slain.

· Mormon hides the sacred records in the Hill Cumorah except for the plates of Mormon, which he gives to his son, Moroni.

· The Lamanites hunt down the remaining Nephites to exterminate them.

· 401 AD – Moroni wanders alone. He abridges the record of the Jaredites and finishes the plates.

· 421 AD – After finishing the record, he hides the plates again in the Hill Cumorah, knowing he will soon die.

ym-reading-scriptures

photo from lds.org media library

As per reader request, I have made some printable versions of the timeline!  Just click on the desired link to open and download it.  Enjoy!

Scripture Insert (just the right size to fit in the cover of a Book of Mormon)

Bookmark (use it to mark your place in your Book of Mormon)

Larger Bookmark (if you have larger scriptures or need larger print)

56 thoughts on “Introducing the Book of Mormon Stories Series (and a Timeline)

  1. Joan Lawson says:

    Thank you for sharing. I look forward to using the stories for FHE

    • Xmn says:

      this is great, I just have one suggestion, the last part should include moroni in there somewhere, and well maybe both moroni’s in there somewhere 🙂

      • FHElessons says:

        Thanks, Xmn – After you pointed it out, I looked back and realized I had accidentally typed Mormon in place of Moroni as the person who abridged the Jaredites record and finished the last of the plates. I have corrected it now. Thanks so much for pointing it out!

      • Jan Balls says:

        Thanks for all your hard work in summarizing some of the book of Mormon stories. I am a bit selfish and hope that you can someday summarize them all. I love, love, love it. I am rewriting the scripture stories in my own words and I love being able to add your summaries to mine. I have gained a much greater appreciation for the people in the Book of Mormon and I could not have done this without diving deeper into their lives and great messages. I also love your BofM stories timeline. I’ve wanted one for years, but have been too lazy to do one myslelf. So I have you to thank for this hard work. Keep it up as you are inspiring and helping many people to increaase their love of the scriptures.

        Jan

      • FHElessons says:

        Thank you for your kind words. I do plan to summarize them all, but seem to be slow on getting it done as life gets in the way. More to come soon, though!

    • Karen says:

      I’ve never left a reply on a blog post before but you just have to know this is the most amazing thing ever. Thank you for so freely sharing with others, so that we can all become closer to Christ.

  2. Jodi Baker says:

    This is absolutely wonderful! Anyway I can print this off tomputmin my scriptures? Thanks so much!

    • FHElessons says:

      Thanks! I’m glad you like it! Sure – you can print it for your scriptures or whatever you need! At the bottom of the post next to “share this” is a button that will allow you to print. Otherwise, you can also copy and paste the text into a word processing program to print. Enjoy!

    • FHElessons says:

      Actually, I have now created a couple of different printable copies for you. You can find the links at the bottom of the article.

  3. Brooke says:

    As I was reading Mosiah this week I was wishing I had a timeline to keep things straight in my mind. Thank you so much!

  4. Sandra says:

    I can’t think of a more wonderful thing to do on a blog! THANK YOU!!!!

  5. Ramona says:

    Can’t wait to start reading them. I found your blog via pinterset! Of course, doesn’t everyone?? hahaha!!!

  6. Nancy Holt says:

    Great job !

  7. FHElessons says:

    Thank you, everyone, for all you kind words!

  8. Loni says:

    I have been wanting to do this myself for ages. Thank you, I love it and will definitely use it.

  9. jillchris6 says:

    I had the same experience with not having a broad variety of BOM stories, while teaching Valiant 9’s BOM. I bought a few books to find details and to create a better story telling experience for their’s and mine understanding. The books I found most helpful were of course the manuel, A plain English reference to the Book of Mormon by: Timothy B. Wilson (hard to find), and Illustrated Book of Mormon Stories (a singular, new book – not the set from long ago) Karmel H. Newell. Thanks for posting the stories for others to learn and enjoy with their families.

  10. jillchris6 says:

    Nothing happened to enter the series when clicking HERE on your post.

  11. Lesa says:

    This is a fantastic blog!! You are amazing…thank you so much for sharing your time and talents!

  12. Alix says:

    I like this. It’s a great quick reference. Could you send them the childrens version of the BOM stories. They look like comic strips. That is what I let my investigators/new members use when it’s all a little overwhelming. The church makes them. But a great little print out for my scriptures.

  13. Alanna says:

    This is great! I have been looking for something like this to add to our homeschool curriculum and this is perfect! I love time lines as it can really be visual for my younger learners.

  14. Diane Barrus says:

    Thank you for this!! I was thinking a timeline of Alma with names and places would be good for seminary students this is a start!

  15. Shayna says:

    I was looking at the timeline and I have a couple of questions? 1. I married an American Indian, is he related to the people in the timeline? 2. How could this be determined?

  16. mandi thompson says:

    wow, what an amazing story and experience for your family. how inspiring! thank you so much for sharing. i look forward to reading these stories and sharing them with my family.

  17. FHElessons says:

    Thank you, everyone, for your kind words!

  18. Kara Herron says:

    I love your timeline and I’m going to use it for my personal studies, so thanks! Just thought I’d let you know about a book that I have that basically tells 99 stories found in the Book of Mormon. It was originally published in 1951. It’s called “Book of Mormon Stories for Young Latter-day Saints”. The author is Emma Marr Peterson. I especially LOVE the black and white sketches throughout the book. She does a good job of telling each story, includes quotes from the scriptures, and lists the book of scripture that each story comes from. I found it helpful. Thanks again. I got to your website through pinterest, and I’ll check back often. I’m a missionary mom to 2 right now. Don’t you love it when your missionaries still need you? 🙂 -Kara Herron

  19. Tis Eventide says:

    Hi Laura! I made this into a scripture glue in and was going to put it on my blog for others to print easily. I will put a link back to your blog and put it on the scripture glue-in. Just wanted to see if that would be alright with you 🙂 Let me know.

  20. […] Here is a printable version of a Book of Mormon timeline created by this amazing woman! […]

  21. Rachel says:

    This is truly amazing, and we are going to use this for our family scripture study for the next little while! I was wondering if you had links to the specific scripture stories on your blog from the timeline? That would make finding the stories on your blog even easier. Thanks again!

    • FHElessons says:

      Thanks so much! You can access the stories by clicking on the ‘Scripture Stories” tab at the top of the page and then selecting “Book of Mormon”. However, that is a good idea to put the links right in the timeline. I will try to work on making that happen in the near future. Have a great day!

  22. Teri Garritson says:

    Seriously, my son, less than one month out in the mission field, wrote and asked for the “condensed version of the Book of Mormon”! His investigator knew more about the Book of Mormon than he did! (I’m sure he learned it all, didn’t he?). What’s a mother to do? You send them what they want. Wish you’d have been around 3 years ago! (maybe you were?) Ridges “The Book of Mormon Made Easier” found it’s way to him (via me!) and those books were his lifeline. Thanks for sharing what you have done! You’re amazing–I wanna be like you!

    • FHElessons says:

      You’re so sweet! I’m glad you were able to find the resources your son needed. I have only had this blog for less than a year, but I am loving the exchange of information that the internet provides. I love reading other people’s blogs and learning from their creativity and insight. The internet is a great tool when it allows us all to pool our knowledge and work together. Thanks for stopping by!

  23. Joy Wilson says:

    I love that your son knew he could call on his Mother because you have shared your love of the Book of Mormon with him. Just beautiful.

  24. Suzi says:

    Amazing! So much time and effort! Thanks so much for sharing this! I cannot believe your generosity in sharing not only the timeline, but the lessons as well. You are a very selfless woman and I am the recipient of your talents. Thanks again!

  25. Julie says:

    I cannot figure out how to print the timeline that fits in your scriptures…. am I missing something??

    • FHElessons says:

      Julie, I have created some printable versions for you. Check the links at the end of the article (just below the written timeline) to download a timeline that will fit in your scriptures as well as a couple different sizes of bookmarks. Enjoy!

  26. Beverly Moppins says:

    As a somewhat newcomer to the church, I’m trying to find a site that offer free home study courses thru the mail that I can look up, do and mail back and get a grade and more insight. Do you know of such a site?

    • FHElessons says:

      Sure. Check out BYU’s Independent Study courses here: http://is.byu.edu/site/
      Click on “courses” in the top left corner and choose whether you want high school or college, etc. There are lots of free religion courses under “free” on the “courses” tab. Good luck!

  27. Jess says:

    I recently (a year ago) staring seeing a wonderful man who happens to be morman. I love everything about the church but just like when I began reading the bible in my late teens (I don’t come from a religious family) I found the book of morman difficult to read because of the timeline. (My mind couldn’t place everything correctly) this makes it much easier to understand. I think I’m going to redhead the BOM in this order to get a better grasp. This is the first of its kind I have been able to find….. And on Pinterest no less

  28. laura says:

    Thank you so much for sharing this! It has been a tremendous help in my study.

  29. Christa says:

    I have loved what you have done with these scripture stories! I hope & look forward to more of all the stories and the FHE lessons that accompany them! I’m sure these take time to do so I wanted to express my appreciation to you and let you know how much it has helped increase my understanding of the scriptures as well as helped me to ponder the answers to trials I am going through. Thank you!

  30. Thanks for sharing this! What a great resource! I’m not sure if anyone pointed this out already as I didn’t read through the comments above, but I noticed that you have written the “Anti-Nephi-Lehites” and I believe it should be “Anti-Nephi-Lehies” (with no t). I hope this isn’t offensive at all!

  31. Nicole says:

    Thank you for these stories. We have been using them every morning this summer for morning scripture study. Our children range from ages 8-18. We are able to teach the stories and learn how relate them to our lives. We look forward to more!

  32. Haynes says:

    Thank you so much I will make sure to keep this in my book!

  33. Libbie Sutton says:

    This is amazing, thank you for the time you spent on this.

Leave a Reply

Join 1,946 other followers

Hi! I'm Laura. I started this blog to continue to teach FHE lessons to my children who are grown and living away from home. I also hope to serve my six sisters by preparing FHE lessons that they can use with their younger children, and I hope the lessons will be helpful to you as well! If you would like to contact me, please e-mail me at FHElessons@aol.com.

What is FHE?

FHE stands for Family Home Evening and is a night set aside each week (usually Monday) by families who belong to the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. FHE is a chance for parents to teach lessons to their children about the gospel of Jesus Christ as well as other important topics. The lesson is frequently accompanied by a fun activity together as a family and a yummy treat.
