Gospel Centered Quiet Book

8

October 3, 2013 by FHElessons

Years ago when my kids were very young and my husband and I were still going to school, our ward made quiet books for a Relief Society activity.  The materials cost $11, and at the time, I didn’t have $11 to spare, so I didn’t sign up to make one.  Afterwards I always regretted that I didn’t at least get a copy of the pattern because the quiet books were specially patterned to teach children the gospel, and I thought how perfect that would be to give kids a quiet book to play with during church that would help them to learn the gospel at the same time!

A few years later when we had a little more disposable income, I decided to make up my own pattern for a quiet book to teach children the gospel.  In fact, I not only made one for my own kids but also several more copies for my nieces and nephews as Christmas gifts.  Even though it was a lot of work, I felt happy all the time I was making them, thinking how it would help to teach my children and nieces and nephews and strengthen them in the gospel.

I thought I would share with you what I did in case you wanted to make something similar for your own family or as a Christmas gift.

A Gospel Centered Quiet Book to help your children learn during church

Now, I have to admit that I’m not the most meticulous person when it comes to projects.  So, some things are sewn together in this quiet book but some are just glued together.  For the letters, I used some stick-on felt letters that I ordered from an online craft store.  Originally I planned to sew them on, but in the end I was too tired and just let them stick on.  I wondered if they would hold up over the years, but they actually have.

The first page asks the kids to “match the days of creation.”  In other words, on the first day, God separated the light from the darkness, so the object would be to match the circle that shows the light and darkness separate to space #1.  Here are all the days of creation:

match the days of creation

1. God divided the light from the darkness.  He called the light “day” and the darkness “night”. (I used a yellow circle to represent day and half of a black circle to represent night.  I glued them together to show half day and half night.)

2. God divided a firmament from the waters.  He called the firmament “heaven”. (I cut a blue circle to represent the waters and glued it onto a larger, darker circle to represent the universe.  I labeled them both by printing on to a piece of stiffened canvas.)

3.  God gathered dry land in the midst of the waters.  He called the dry land “earth” and the waters “sea”.  He made grass, herbs, and trees to grow. (I cut a piece of continent shaped felt and glued it onto a blue circle to look like the earth.  I drew foliage onto the land part of the earth with fabric markers.)

4.  God created the sun to rule the day and the moon to rule the night. (I glued felt shapes o the sun, moon, and stars onto a dark blue circle to represent the sky.)

5.  God created moving creatures in the waters and fowl in the air. ((I printed pictures of sea creatures and birds on a piece of stiffened canvas and glued it onto a blue circle to represent water and air.)

6.  God created moving creatures upon the earth as well as man and woman. (I printed a picture of Adam and Eve surrounded by animals on a piece of stiffened canvas and glued it onto a green circle to represent earth.)

7.  God rested.  (I used a plain white circle to represent rest.)

For the page itself, I drew 7 circles and labeled them with stick-on numbers.  I also labeled the back of the days of creation with numbers so the kids would have help knowing which day went where.  I used stick-on velcro to attach the circles together.  I think I may have added a little hot glue to make sure the velcro stayed put.

 

The second page tells the story of Noah’s Ark.  The animals are all finger puppets which I made by gluing all the pieces with fabric glue.  The ark is sewn onto the page, and the window opens to figures of Noah and his wife that I drew with fabric marker.

Noah's Ark

The green felt at the bottom to represent dry land is not attached to the page.  It has blue felt on the other side and so can be turned over to represent water.  There is also a felt cloud to cover the sun, and all the animals can be tucked into the ark to store them.

Noah's Ark during the flood

 

Page three is the Nativity.  I took the easy route on this one and purchased a felt nativity set, so I didn’t have to make all the figures myself.  The stars are stick-on felt shapes.

nativity quiet book page

The Holy Family, the angel, and the animals can all be tucked into the stable.   I sewed a piece of green felt on the back and then sewed the stable over it, leaving the doors open to create the pockets.  The wise men, camel, and shepherd can be tucked into the hills, which are sewn along the bottom and up the sides but not across the top.

nativity scene quiet book page

 

The next page is all about different prophets and scripture stories.  There are 18 frames, each with a short summary of what that prophet did.  I printed the summaries on canvas and sewed them onto the page.  I cut felt frames and sewed them over the canvas rectangles, leaving the top open so that a photo of the prophet could be slipped inside.  The pocket that holds the pictures is sewn on and closed with stick-on velcro.  To make the prophet pictures, I downloaded photos from lds.org gospel art library and printed them on cardstock.  I wrote the prophet’s name across the top and the number that matches it to its description on the back of the cardstock.  Then I laminated the cardstock.  The children can read the descriptions and try to match the correct prophet.  They can use the numbers to check if they are right.

match the prophets by slipping a picture into a frame

 

Here are my prophets and descriptions:

1. Noah: Because I followed the Lord’s command to build an ark, the lives of my family and many animals were preserved.

2. Nephi: I said, “I will go and do the things which the Lord hath commanded.”

3. Brother of Jared: Because of my great faith, I saw God’s finger when I asked him to touch sixteen stones to light our barges.

4. Abinadi: I testified of the true Gospel even though it meant I would be burned to death.

5. Isaiah: I wrote many great prophecies concerning Jesus Christ who would come to suffer for our sins.

6. Joseph: Even when my own brothers sold me into slavery, I remained true to my principles and was eventually able to save my family from starvation.

7. Daniel:  I obeyed God’s law by refusing the “king’s meat” and by refusing to stop praying.  The Lord saved me from the lions.

8. King Benjamin: Because of my good example, my speech from a tower caused my people to have no more desire to sin.

9. Lehi: 600 years before Christ came to earth, I prophesied that Jerusalem would be destroyed.  The Lord saved my life by leading me into the wilderness.

10. Enoch: My city was called Zion.  Because of our righteousness we were taken up to heaven without dying.

11. John the Baptist:  I preached to the Israelites and baptized them to prepare the way for Jesus Christ.

12. Moroni:  When I was the last Nephite alive on earth, I buried the gold plates in the Hill Cumorah.

13. Enos:  I obtained forgiveness of my sins by praying all day and all night.  I then prayed for the welfare of both the Nephites and the Lamanites.

14. Moses: I led the Israelites out of bondage in Egypt.  I received the Ten commandments while we wandered in the wilderness.

15. Samuel: When I was just a young boy, I heard the voice of the Lord call me.

16. Jonah: I spent three days in the belly of a great fish when I refused to preach to the people of Nineveh.

17. Samuel the Lamanite: Arrows could not hit me when I stood on a wall to preach of Jesus Christ to the wicked Nephites.

18. Abraham: I obeyed the Lord’s commands, even when he told me to sacrifice my beloved son Isaac.

 

The last page has two different activities.  One is a little set of gold plates hidden in the Hill Cumorah.  The other is a puzzle that says, “Help Build the Temple.”

teach the gospel quiet book pages

The Hill Cumorah is sewn on with an opening left on one side to hide the gold plates.

To make the puzzle, I printed a picture of a temple onto stiffened canvas and then cut it up into puzzle pieces.  I used stick-on velcro on the back of the pieces and on the book to attach the puzzle.

gold plates and temple quiet book pages

To make the gold plates, I cut pieces of gold colored felt.  The characters on the cover came from some website that showed what reformed Egyptian might possibly have looked like.  The first page of the book says, “Try to think of a Book of Mormon story to go with each picture. (There may be more than one.)”  Then each page has a picture on it, which I printed on canvas and glued onto the page.  I think I must have copied the pictures from the Friend magazine because they say things under them like, “Jerusalem”, “Sword”, and “Liahona”.  After the kids are done looking through the gold plates and thinking of all the Book of Mormon stories they know, they can tuck the plates back into the Hill Cumorah.  I bound the plates together with simple ring binders by cutting small holes in the felt.

mini gold plates for a quiet book

 

So, that was my Teach the Gospel Quiet Book.  I hope my kids and my nieces and nephews have enjoyed it, and I hope it has helped to focus their minds on the gospel while they are sitting in church each Sunday.

Gospel Centered Quiet Book

Looking for more page ideas?  Here is a blog I saw recently with quite a few good quiet book pages that teach the gospel.  And Here is another super cute one!  If you find any more, please add them to the comments!

8 thoughts on “Gospel Centered Quiet Book

  1. I’m so jealous I didn’t have kids yet when you made these. They are awesome! How fun!

  2. Jeni says:

    Hi! I love your quiet book- it is really cool! I am trying to make some mini gold plates… and I have looked on lds.org for the pictures, but am having trouble finding them. Any chance you know where to find them? Thanks so much!

  3. Becky says:

    Hello, where did you purchase the 12 piece felt nativity set. I’ve been looking for one. Please advise.
    Thank you,
    Becky 💁🏻

  4. Jane says:

    Lots of Bible quiet book pages and tutorials at faithandfeltobsession.blogspot.com.au

Leave a Reply

Join 1,948 other followers

Hi! I'm Laura. I started this blog to continue to teach FHE lessons to my children who are grown and living away from home. I also hope to serve my six sisters by preparing FHE lessons that they can use with their younger children, and I hope the lessons will be helpful to you as well! If you would like to contact me, please e-mail me at FHElessons@aol.com.

What is FHE?

FHE stands for Family Home Evening and is a night set aside each week (usually Monday) by families who belong to the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. FHE is a chance for parents to teach lessons to their children about the gospel of Jesus Christ as well as other important topics. The lesson is frequently accompanied by a fun activity together as a family and a yummy treat.
