Why I Believe by Michaelanne

Leave a comment

January 13, 2014 by FHElessons

And now, for a Why I Believe essay by one of my favorite people – Michaelanne!  To view all the essays in this series, please click on the “Why I Believe” tab at the top of the page.  For instructions on how to write your own Why I Believe essay, click HERE.  If you would like to contribute an essay to this series, feel free to e-mail me at FHElessons at aol dot com.

Why I Believe

by Michaelanne

Why I Believe by Michaelanne

There are some things that are difficult to describe in words and can only be understood through the power of the Holy Ghost. A testimony of Christ and His Gospel is one of those things. As I describe my own experience, I pray that the Spirit will touch the hearts of those who read, so that they might also know of the truth and feel God’s love.

Alma, in chapter 32, talks about planting a seed of faith which grows into a knowledge of the truth. My own testimony began just like that. As a child I had such a desire to believe. Because of that desire, I decided to, as Alma puts it, experiment on the word. Over time and experiences, this seed of faith grew into my testimony of the Gospel. I cannot remember one specific time when I suddenly knew of the truth, but I do distinctly remember many experiences that caused my testimony to grow. Not only did these experiences strengthen my faith, but they also helped me to grow closer to God and follow better the example of the Savior.

After planting our faith and nourishing its growth, Alma talks about tasting of the fruits from the tree. This fruit of the Gospel is God’s perfect love for us. He loves each of us individually and unconditionally. His love is the purest thing I have ever felt. It is pure warmth and light, and absolute joy. I testify that God loves each one of His children, and wants ever so much for each of us to feel that love. As we come unto Him, we will feel His love. It is this love that has completely changed my life.

Because I have felt his love, my strongest desire is to serve Him. I can do this by following the Savior’s example by living in strict obedience to the commandments of God and by loving and serving those around me. I can do this by studying out his word through the scriptures and the words given by modern day prophets. I can seek out his will and follow the path in which he has set out for me. I can trust in Him and submit to any trials or refining experiences He sees fit to help me grow closer to Him and learn of Him. As I have attempted to do these things, I have found that living the Gospel and seeking to strengthen my relationship with God and His Son have brought me so much happiness. They bring a happiness I could never create on my own.

My relationships with God and with my Savior are one of the most prized possessions of my heart. When I was younger, I lived the Gospel because I believed it was true and I wanted to be good, but now I live the Gospel simply because I love my Father in Heaven, and I want to do all that I can to have His spirit with me so I can best serve in His kingdom.

A testimony is a gift from God, but it is available to all those who earnestly seek to know the truth. God promises that those who ask, will receive; those who knock will have the door opened unto them (Matt 7:7-8).

I know Christ lived and died on the cross to fulfill the will of the Father and atone for each of our sins. What a marvelous gift the Atonement truly is. I have felt the power of the Atonement in my life – strengthening me, aiding me, comforting me. I admit that I am completely dependent on the Atonement. I love the scripture in 2 Corinthians 12: 9-10; it reads: “And he said unto me, My grace is sufficient for thee: for my strength is made perfect in weakness. Most gladly therefore will I rather glory in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me. Therefore I take pleasure in infirmities, in reproaches, in necessities, in persecutions, in distresses for Christ’s sake: for when I am weak, then am I strong.” Christ lives. The Book of Mormon testifies of Him. This is His church. I stand as a witness that this is true. In the name of Jesus Christ, Amen.

 

A Why I Believe essay by Michaelanne

 

For a FREE PRINTABLE copy of Michaelanne’s testimony that is just the right size to slip into the front of a Book of Mormon, click HERE.

Leave a Reply

Join 1,948 other followers

Hi! I'm Laura. I started this blog to continue to teach FHE lessons to my children who are grown and living away from home. I also hope to serve my six sisters by preparing FHE lessons that they can use with their younger children, and I hope the lessons will be helpful to you as well! If you would like to contact me, please e-mail me at FHElessons@aol.com.

What is FHE?

FHE stands for Family Home Evening and is a night set aside each week (usually Monday) by families who belong to the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. FHE is a chance for parents to teach lessons to their children about the gospel of Jesus Christ as well as other important topics. The lesson is frequently accompanied by a fun activity together as a family and a yummy treat.
