Homemade Naan for an FHE Treat

3

February 27, 2014 by FHElessons

Recently I tried a recipe I found online for homemade naan, and it was amazingly delicious!  I have had naan at Indian restaurants before and loved it, but I never realized how easy it could be to make at home.  We have enjoyed it for dinner with some tandoori chicken, hummus, olives, feta, etc, but it is so delicious all by itself that I thought it would make a super fun Family Home Evening treat.

The best part about it is that you can flavor it with a variety of different spices.  You could set up a tasting bar with different flavors of naan for everyone to try, or you could let each family member flavor their own personal naan, in a personal-pizza party style.

The first time I made the naan, I accidentally put a little more flour in than the recipe called for.  It turned out looking like this:

homemade naan makes a yummy FHE treat

 

The next time I made it, I tried to do as the recipe called for and keep the dough sticky.  I found that the dough was very easy to roll out, but it tended to tear as I was cooking it.  It turned out looking like this:

homemade naan

 

Both ways tasted delicious!  Next time I will try to add enough flour to keep the dough tacky, but I won’t let it stay sticky.  Hopefully the naan will be a little stronger and won’t tear as I am turning it.  My hubby liked the naan thinner, but my daughter liked it thicker and more bread-like.  So, it’s up to you how stiff you make the dough and how thin you roll it out.

Basically, to make the bread you will mix up the dough, let it rest for an hour, divide into pieces, and roll each piece out into the oval shape of a naan.  Each one should be about 1/4 inch thick.

Cut dough into pieces and roll out

 

If you don’t have time to be mixing the dough up exactly 1 1/2 hours before you will be eating your treats, you can mix it earlier in the day.  Roll out your naans and then stack them one on top of the other with a sheet of oiled plastic wrap in between each naan.  Place on a cookie sheet, cover tightly and then store in the fridge until ready to bake.

If baking naan later in day store with plastic wrap in between each piece

 

Traditional naan in India is cooked in a tandoor, a cylindrical clay oven.  Obviously, I don’t have one of those.  But cooking it in my cast iron dutch oven worked just as well, I think.  Keeping the lid on as I cooked mimicked oven-style cooking, and the cast iron gives the bread a little crispness on the outside.

Use a dutch oven in place of a tandoor

 

The recipe originally called for a cast iron frying pan with a lid, but since my cast iron frying pan doesn’t have a cast iron lid, I used my dutch oven.  I took the burners off my stove and just set my dutch oven right over the fire.

Make homemade Naan in a dutch oven on your stove

 

If you don’t have any cast iron cookware, try it in your enamelware, or whatever kind of cookware you have, and let me know how it turns out!

The first time I made the naan, I just made it plain.  It was super yummy, and I thought it was wonderful dipped in hummus.  For FHE, you could do a flavor bar with different types of hummus to dip the plain naan in.  The second time, I tried some different flavorings.  I have some tiny cast iron pans that we got a while ago for making p’zookies in.  I used three of them to melt butter, and I mixed different herbs or spices into each one.  I brushed each naan with one of the flavor combinations before baking, and we all enjoyed tearing pieces off to try all of the flavors.  If you don’t have tiny pans to melt the butter, just melt it in the microwave and mix in your spices.  Here are my tiny pans:

Melt herbed butter in small pans

 

I hope you get a chance to make your own naan for FHE, and I hope you enjoy it as much as we did ours!  Here is the recipe with detailed instructions.  You can click on the image below and then right click to print or save to your computer.  Or, get the PDF HERE.  The PDF will print a little more crisply.  Recipe is adapted from Half Baked Harvest.

Naan

 

homemade naan for FHE treats

3 thoughts on “Homemade Naan for an FHE Treat

  1. What a great idea! And your na’an turned out beautifully. I’ll be sure to try your recipe with my family.

  2. Joan Lawson says:

    This looks like a wonderful activity! Thanks for the step by step pictures!

  3. Charisma says:

    That looks so well done and really tasty. I love warm naan and butter!

Leave a Reply

Join 1,950 other followers

Hi! I'm Laura. I started this blog to continue to teach FHE lessons to my children who are grown and living away from home. I also hope to serve my six sisters by preparing FHE lessons that they can use with their younger children, and I hope the lessons will be helpful to you as well! If you would like to contact me, please e-mail me at FHElessons@aol.com.

What is FHE?

FHE stands for Family Home Evening and is a night set aside each week (usually Monday) by families who belong to the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. FHE is a chance for parents to teach lessons to their children about the gospel of Jesus Christ as well as other important topics. The lesson is frequently accompanied by a fun activity together as a family and a yummy treat.
