25 Gifts Christ Gives to Us

19

October 31, 2013 by FHElessons

{Note:  I recently discovered that clicking on the free printables below and then right-clicking to print causes the documents to print at a smaller size than they should be.  For full size documents of all the printables in this post, click on the following links: Handout 1 (green), Handout 1 (white), Scripture Gift Tags 1, Scripture Gift Tags 2, Scripture Gift Tags 3, Blank Gift Tags. Save to your computer and then print at full sheet (8.5×11 in) size.}

 

One of my family’s Christmas traditions is advent stockings.  When each of my children was born, I made him or her a stocking with 24 pockets and/or hooks on the front for holding 24 small gifts or treats.  The kids could choose one each day to help them count down the days until Christmas.  Here they are:

Christmas advent stockings

Last year I decided to step up my game a little by coordinating the gifts with scriptures.  I wanted my kids to learn a little more about Christ during the Christmas season, so I found 24 scriptures, each one referencing a Name of Christ.  You can see what I did and download the scriptures I used HERE.

This year I thought I’d continue my Christ-centered advent but with a new theme.  In keeping with the current series I have been doing about gifts {See also my posts Why We Give Gifts for Christmas and How to Teach Our Children to Give Good Gifts}, the scriptures I am using this year each tell of a gift that God gives to us.

Originally I planned to have my theme be gifts that Christ gives to us, but since God the Father and Jesus Christ are One, what one gives, the other also gives.  Thus, my scriptures could more correctly be titled “Gifts that God Gives to Us.”

If you would like to do a little FHE lesson on gifts either the last Monday in November or the first one in December to introduce this theme and get your kids thinking about Good Gifts, feel free to use one of the above links.  At the end of the lesson, you could give them the following handout:

 

Handout to Be Given Before Day 1 of Advent

(Click on it to open and then right-click to save to your computer.  After it is saved, open it and print the full 8 1/2 x 11 inch size.  I noticed that if you try to print straight from the link, it will print too small.)

Gifts Christ Gives to Us

If you would like to use less color ink, you can print this version:

Gifts Christ Gives to Us white

Instruct your family to fill in gifts that God has given to us as they read each advent scripture and as they think of them throughout the month.  There are so many amazing gifts from God that I had an agonizing time choosing between all the scriptures that tell about them.  And on top of that, I could think of a lot of gifts God has given me that are not even described in the scriptures.  So, I hope as my family begins thinking about these gifts during December, that they will think of more and more until they realize that there are so many we could never fit them all in one piece of paper!

 

The Advent Calendar

Now, one thing that is different for me this year is that my son is on a mission.  I obviously don’t want to send his advent stocking, so I am going to send his gifts in little gift boxes.  I found these cute containers at Dollar Tree (8 for $1).  They’re like little Chinese food take-out boxes.  They were in the party section, and they aren’t really patterned for Christmas, but at least they are green!

Containers for Advent Gifts

 

I will put a small gift or a treat in each box and then tape the scripture for the day to the front.  I know you’re excited to find out what these scriptures are, and, guess what? I have created some super cute free printables for you!  The scripture for each day is printed on a cute little gift.

Note: To download, just click on each picture (there are 3 total) and then right-click to save to your computer. After it is saved, open it and print the full 8 1/2 x 11 inch size.  I noticed that if you try to print straight from the link, it will print too small. I printed mine on cardstock and then cut them out tight against the shape.  But you could also cut them out loosely and leave a white border around each gift.

 

Because I couldn’t narrow it down to 24, I chose 25.  The last scripture will have to be tucked into their stockings for Christmas morning.

Page 1

Gifts of God tags 1

Page 2

Gifts of God tags 2

Page 3

Gifts of God tags 3

 

Last year I tried to match the advent gift to the scripture for that day.  For example, for a scripture that names Christ as the Light of the World, I gave a tiny flashlight, and for a scripture that names Christ as the True Vine, I gave a little pack of Red Vines candy.  This year I think the scriptures will be too hard to match, so I am just going to give the gifts and the scriptures; they won’t necessarily coordinate.  Here are some ideas for ways you can use these scriptures:

 

Ways to Use Advent Scriptures

1. Wrap each gift (or tuck into a box like I am doing for my missionary) and attach the scripture as a tag.

2.  Leave a scripture and a treat on your child’s pillow each night.

3. Hide the scriptures all over the house so that people will find them all throughout the Christmas season.

4.  Read one scripture together each night as a family.

5. Use in place of or in addition to your normal advent tradition.

 

If you do happen to get the little boxes like I did, here are a couple of ways you could display them:

In a Pile

Gifts of God Advent Calendar

Hanging from a series of little hooks OR

Hanging from a ribbon or string on the wall

Advent gifts with scriptures about the gifts God gives us

Scriptures about the gifts God gives to us to go with advent gifts

As I mentioned before, I found too many scriptures to choose from.  Here are the scriptures I didn’t use in case you like them better or in case you just want to study the subject of gifts.  Click on each scripture to open it.  The correct verses will be highlighted.

 

Additional Scriptures for Study or Use

 

In case you prefer one of those scriptures to the ones I used or some different scriptures altogether, here is a blank copy of the printable.

Gifts of God tags blank

You can print it and write the scriptures in by hand or possibly bring it into Word or Photoshop and type over it.

 

The Scriptures I Used

And finally, in case you want to use your scriptures in a different format than above, here are all the ones I used, in no particular order.  Besides the fact that I made 25 little gifts with scriptures, I also cheated by putting 2 scriptures on some of the gifts.  There were just too many great scriptures to choose from! Click on each scripture to open it.  The verses I used will be highlighted:

 

I hope you enjoy reading about all the amazing gifts that God has given us, and I hope it brings you closer to Christ this Christmas season!  Merry Christmas!

19 thoughts on “25 Gifts Christ Gives to Us

  1. Darlene Atkinson says:

    Thanks for this post. I want to do an advent calendar-type activity for adults.

  2. Naomi says:

    You have put soooo much work into this!! Thank you so much, it is a gift to me. 🙂

  3. Lindsey says:

    This really is amazing. Thanks for all your hard work!

  4. Melanie Pousard says:

    How very kind and generous of you to share this advent activity. Want to make one for each family of grand-kiddos living away from us. Thank you so much!

  5. Betty says:

    This is such a great idea I couldn’t wait to get started making one. One problem though I couldn’t print the 3rd page of the Christmas Advent Scriptures inside. All the others printed except page 3. Could you send me that page I used the pdf file. Thanks

  6. Denna Leavitt says:

    You are amazing, thank you so much!!

  7. S Lindsay says:

    This was the best item I’ve found all season, and I’m printing it right now for next year. Thank you for the preparation and the sharing!!

  8. Shauna says:

    How nice of you to share your ideas and hard work! I’m excited to try some!

  9. miller2x says:

    I’m so glad that I found this on Pinterest today, it is perfect for what I was looking for! We started an elf on the shelf last year, and she brought random acts of kindness each day for the kids to do. This year I wanted to incorporate a scripture advent instead, and this is perfect, you have done all the work for me! Thank you for sharing this with us!

  10. Carolyn Smith says:

    Darling! Wonderful! Thanks for sharing! This can be uses so many ways! Great way to celebrate the true meaning of Christmas!

  11. Rachel Sego says:

    Thanks so much for all your work here. We are using your printables for our Young Women to make these advent kits for each of their families this year for the Christmas season. You’ve saved us a ton of work!

  12. Judy says:

    Thank you so much! Your are amazingly generous and thoughtful, I am sure that is a bonus for all of us because of all your personal study and love for the Lord.

  13. Linda Joshua says:

    What creative ideas you have to teach children about the meaning of Advent! To select 25 gifts from Scripture that God gives to us and use an object to represent each one is such an excellent connection for children to make! I love all the ideas you have shared in your post, and I know there are some adults who could learn from your ideas as well!

    Thanks for sharing, and may you and Your family have a wonderful Christmas and an even more blessed New Year!

    Linda Joshua❤️

  14. April says:

    This is truly beautiful. Thank you for sharing! I may have missed it, but do you have ideas of the different “gifts” you chose to go along with the scriptures?

  15. Natalee says:

    These are awesome. Would you consider making them in Spanish? I’d love to send them to my missionary on his mission.

  16. Lynn Abernathy says:

    Thank you for your post I am going to do this for my grandson who is on his mission, Can you give me some ideas for the gifts you put in the little boxes. I am not so good at the computer but will try to print all your tags. Also thank you for this reply if I have any problems.

  17. shermsgal says:

    This is such a wonderful idea!!! I am going to implement a version of this for my God children.Thank you for sharing it. May the Lord bless you and your family always.

Leave a comment

Join 1,991 other subscribers
Hi! I'm Laura. I started this blog to continue to teach FHE lessons to my children who are grown and living away from home. I also hope to serve my six sisters by preparing FHE lessons that they can use with their younger children, and I hope the lessons will be helpful to you as well! If you would like to contact me, please e-mail me at FHElessons@aol.com.

What is FHE?

FHE stands for Family Home Evening and is a night set aside each week (usually Monday) by families who belong to the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. FHE is a chance for parents to teach lessons to their children about the gospel of Jesus Christ as well as other important topics. The lesson is frequently accompanied by a fun activity together as a family and a yummy treat.